What are the different types of DMARC policies?

There are three different types of Domain-based Message Authentication Reporting and Conformance (DMARC) policies that you can include in your DMARC record. These policies tell mailbox providers how to handle your email if it fails authentication.

Here are the three different policies and what they mean:

  • p=none: This policy, which is referred to as monitor, means that the mailbox provider won't take any actions with your emails that fail DMARC.
  • p=quarantine: This policy means that you want to have all emails that fail DMARC to be treated by mailbox providers as suspicious. Quarantining an email can mean that the email is delivered into an area outside of the inbox, such as the spam or junk folder.
  • p=reject: This policy indicates you want mailbox providers to reject all emails that fail DMARC.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request